Mission Statement  

Liberty Middle School, partnered with community, parents, faculty, and students, provides an engaging, diverse curriculum aimed at producing active, self-directed learners for life.

  About The School  


  • We will value each student as we help him or her become a confident, self-directed, lifelong learner.
  • Student learning is the chief priority for our school.
  • Students will demonstrate their understanding of essential knowledge and skills by applying their learning in meaningful contexts.
  • Students learn best when they are actively engaged in the learning process.
  • Teachers, administrators, parents, and the community share the responsibility for advancing the school's mission.

  • History

    Liberty Middle School is located in Madison at 281 Dock Murphy Drive. Liberty opened its doors to students in mid-August 1990 and a formal dedication was held on September 16, 1990. Liberty became a part of the Madison City School System at the system's inception on July 1, 1998. 

    Liberty was designed and constructed due to the large growth in the Madison and Monrovia school attendance zones. Originally, Liberty Middle School was a magnet school, serving all the students in grades five through eight in the Madison area, and students from the Monrovia and Harvest area could choose to attend the school from grade six on. However, the continued increasing population in the Liberty school district necessitated the creation of Discovery Middle School and Monrovia Middle. Discovery and Liberty now share the population of students in grades seven through eight from the Madison area. 

    National Blue Ribbon School

    In 2001 and again in 2012, Liberty was named a National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence. The National Review Panel considers the following general categories in analyzing the application of each school:

    • Student Focus and Support
    • School Organization and Culture
    • Challenging Standards and Curriculum
    • Active Teaching and Learning
    • Professional Community
    • Leadership and Educational Vitality
    • School, Family, and Community Partnerships
    • Indicators of Success

    Details of these eight categories of selection criteria are provided in the nomination package available through the nominating agencies or on the U.S. Department of Education website.  Each year, special emphases are designated. These represent areas where school performance needs to be greatly improved and where effective models are sought. Schools may choose to seek honors in one special emphasis area in addition to comprehensive recognition.